Click Logo To Page

Payroll Georgia, Unique Aspects of Georgia Payroll Law and Practice

The Georgia State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:

Department of Revenue
Withholding Tax Unit
504 Trinity-Washington Bldg.
270 Washington Street
Atlanta, GA 30334
404-417-2311
http://www.etax.dor.ga.gov/withholding.shtml

Georgia requires that you use Georgia form "G-4, Employee's Withholding Certificate" instead of a Federal W-4 Form for Georgia State Income Tax Withholding.

Not all states allow salary reductions made under Section 125 cafeteria plans or 401(k) to be treated in the same manner as the IRS code allows. In Georgia cafeteria plans are: not taxable for income tax calculation; not taxable for unemployment insurance purposes. 401(k) plan deferrals are: not taxable for income taxes; taxable for unemployment purposes.

In Georgia supplemental wages are taxed or a graduated rate

Annual wage Rate
Under $8,000.00 2.0%
$8,000.00 to $10,000.00 3.0%
$10,000.00 to $12,000.00 4.0 %
$12,000.00 to $15,000.00 5.0%
over $15,000.00 6.0%


You must file your Georgia State W-2s by magnetic media if you have at least 250 employees.

The Georgia State Unemployment Insurance Agency is:

Georgia Department of Labor
Unemployment Insurance Division
148 International Blvd., N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30303-1751
404-656-3122
www.dol.state.ga.us/em/

The State of Georgia taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is wages up to $8500.00.

Georgia requires Magnetic media reporting of quarterly wage reporting if the employer has at least 100 employees that they are reporting that quarter.

Unemployment records must be retained in Georgia for a minimum period of four years. This information generally includes: name; social security number; dates of hire, rehire and termination; wages by period; payroll pay periods and pay dates; date and circumstances of termination.

The Georgia State Agency charged with enforcing the state wage and hour laws is:

Department of Labor
148 International Blvd., N.E., Ste. 276
Atlanta, GA 30303-1751
866-487-9243
www.dol.state.ga.us/

The minimum wage in Georgia is $5.15 per hour.

There is also no general provision in Georgia State Law covering paying overtime in a non-FLSA covered employer.

Georgia State new hire reporting requirements are that every employer must report every new hire and rehires. The employer must report the federally required elements of:

  • Employee's name

  • Employee's address

  • Employee's social security number

  • Employer's name

  • Employers address

  • Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)


Plus
  • Date of Birth

  • UI ID# of UBI ID#

This information must be reported within 10 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a written warning for a late report in Georgia.

The Georgia new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-541-0469 / 404-525-2985 or on the web at https://newhirereporting.com/ga-newhire/default.asp .

Georgia does allow compulsory direct deposit but the employee's choice of financial institution must meet federal Regulation E regarding choice of financial institutions.

Georgia requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:

  • Employer

  • pay rate

  • hours worked

  • itemized deductions


Georgia requires that employee be paid no less often than semi-monthly and at even intervals. There is an exemption for officials, superintendents and department heads.


In Georgia there are no statutory requirements concerning the lag time between when the services are performed and when the employee must be paid.

Georgia has no general provision on when terminated employees must be paid their final wages.

Deceased employee's wages up to $2,500.00 must be paid to the designated beneficiary, surviving spouse or children's guardian (in that order).

Escheat laws in Georgia require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.

The employer is further required in California to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of ten years.

There is no provision in Georgia law concerning tip credits against State minimum wage.

In the Georgia payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.

There is no provision in Georgia law concerning record retention of wage and hour records therefor it is probably wise to follow FLSA guidelines.

The Georgia agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:

Child Support Enforcement
State Department of Human Resources
2 Peachtree St., N.W. 15th Fl.
404-657-3851
http://ocse.dhr.georgia.gov/portal/site/DHR-OCSE/

Georgia has the following provisions for child support deductions:

  • When to start Withholding? 14 days after order is mailed

  • When to send Payment? Two days of Payday.

  • When to send Termination Notice? "Promptly"

  • Maximum Administrative Fee? $3 per payment ($25 for first one).

  • Withholding Limits? Federal Rules under CCPA.





Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.




Summary
Payroll Georgia, Unique Aspects of Georgia Payroll Law and Practice
Georgia payroll has some unique aspects and conditions. Some of the details and laws are set out in this article including information concerning: tax withholding and reporting; unemployment insurance taxes and reporting; wage and hour laws; and child support withholding.

Keywords:
Payroll Georgia, Georgia payroll, payroll, Georgia payroll taxes, Georgia Income Tax, Georgia payroll withholding, Georgia payroll service, Georgia Unemployment Insurance, Georgia Child Support

Word Count:802

[#645 of 2596] -end


NEW Articles of the day for
Opportunity Publication Magazine

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

  Visit Our Advertisers -
They help keep this service FREE!

NEW Ads every day in
Opportunity Publication Magazine

I USED TO BE ON A FIXED INCOME.
NOT ANYMORE!

Let Me Send You Some Of The Great Programs Which Got Me Off Food Stamps and Into A Better Ride!
These Programs Are The Best!
Send #10 LSASE and 2 loose Forever Stamps:
HONEST PROGRAMS
P.O. Box 159 C
Rocky Point, NC 28457-0159

JOBS POWERBALL
JACKPOT
FUND RAISER

To enter, purchase Proxene ES 90 capsules, (an anti-aging supplement), for one of the following prices that you can afford:
[ ]$50. [ ]Up to $120.
[ ]More than $120.
This is a fund raiser so Medicare or Medicaid are not accepted.
Checks are preferred.
I will accept money orders and credit cards.
No orders accepted by E-Mail.
Allow up to 4 weeks for delivery of Proxene ES 90.
Send your order to:
DR. LEMMIE PINKNEY, M.D.
4075 KAHNVILLE RD.
GLOSTER, MS 39638

FREE REPORT!
How To Legally Make $100.00's To $1'000.00's Of Dollars

Working From The Comfort-Privacy Of Your Home-Residency.
No Experience Needed.
For Free Report, Send 3 Forever Stamps, Shipping And Handling to:
MILTON DOUGLAS
POB 200043
JAMAICA, NY 11420
Related Opportunities At:
http://www.miltonsopportunityknockers.info/index.html

FINALLY START MAKING MONEY

By Marketing Your Own Products and Ideas
Or Others' Products And Ideas!
Send $1.00 Plus 2 F/C Stamps to:
JAMESINA WENTZ
412 E. 7th. St., Apt.2
The Dalles, OR 97058

FREE FULLER BRUSH-STANLEY CO.
Dealership, Website & Hosting.

Earn Money Working From Home.
1-410-674-0030
Join:www.FullerBrushgetstarted.com
Shop at: www.FullerDirect.com
ENTER Log in #1417663



Opportunity Publication Magazine

Opportunity Publication Magazine - COPYRIGHT - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED